SAVING MR. BANKS – Honor Thy Father

The Film Avenger

I had some expectations going into this movie – perhaps some that could not be easily met.

I consider myself a Disney historian, having studied Walt Disney, the man and the company he built, for over twenty years. I love what Disney does, but I’m not afraid to call things the way I see them.

I had to see this film twice to fully appreciate it. The first viewing was peppered with my grumblings about the historical accuracy of the events depicted. To say that this film was inspired by true events would be entirely accurate. It did play fast-and-loose with the facts.

The second time made me see the film for what it was: an enjoyable piece of cinema inspired by actual events.

Saving Mr. Banks is not a documentary, nor does it claim to be. It is a film, and a wonderful one at that. Much like the…

View original post 1,788 more words

By mumbleee

Leave a Reply

